Tuesday, September 20, 2016

Mettle of Granite County Book One Chapter Three

Chapter Three

Table of Contents

W.E. Moore.....................................................................................7

 Merchants and Businessmen

 The discovery of gold and silver was the reason people immigrated to the remote western region in the 1880’s. These miners needed supplies and sustenance and the need was filled by stalwart entrepreneurs, not afraid to take a gamble. Often they were also miners or invested in the mines. I will attempt to describe some of those people and their descendants in this chapter.


William Weinstein, is credited with opening one of the first General Merchandise stores, in Granite, in 1885, with his main store in Philipsburg, built in 1877, at 210 E. Broadway. The story goes that he came from Cable, in 1866, with a wagon load of supplies. Whether he came in 1866 or 1867, as the following article stated we know he was one of the very early merchants (1).
 According to his obituary, Mr. Weinstein, came to the United States from Poland in the year 1855, as a young boy, and lived at Leavenworth, Kansas, then other western localities, until he arrived in Montana in 1865, where he started a small store in Cable, some time afterward. Next he moved to Philipsburg in 1867, and started a small store, which grew to be one of the largest and most important in the state. I also found where he ran a small store in Corvallis, Missoula County, for a short time, with a man named Block.

Emphasizing the fact, he was an astute businessman, the New Northwest, in 1882, had an article discussing the shut down of the Algonquin Mine and stated “…Mr. Weinstein had secured a judgment and execution against the Algonquin Co. for about $8,000 and was proceeding to sell certain personal property”, when a motion was argued, before Judge Galbraith, in chambers and the motion was sustained until the case came up, in the next term of court. As stated in a following paragraph on Connolly, Weinstein was not the only one owed money. Although the individuals are not mentioned in the final article, when the case was settled, I am certain Mr. Weinstein was able to recover most of the credit he had extended.(2)

William Weinstein and his little son Harry returned from an eastern visit, in 1887. Where he bought and promised the townspeople to shortly exhibit for sale at his Broadway store, the most complete and select stock of general merchandise, notions and ladies’ dress goods that was ever brought into the territory.

Weinstein was an Alderman, for the City of Philipsburg, in 1893, and in attendance at the May meeting, where he requested the Clerk re-advertise for bids to grade Granite and Sansome Street, after the council rejected bids by George Metcalf and Ed Sage. At the same City meeting, the City agreed to pay the following bills and referred them to the finance committee: Treasurer Kaiser, the sum of $25.36; Policeman Morgan, the sum of $85.00; Marshal Evans, the sum of $114.00; Wm. Weinstein, the sum of $24.50; and so on .

In the same issue of the Mail, was a history of the newspaper and it included an article about the Merchant and Miner’s Bank whose officers were: A.A. McDonald as president and Wm. Weinstein as vice-president.(3)

The June, 14, 1893, issue of the Citizen Call, stated Harry Weinstein, spent a vacation with Mrs. Tessy Weinstein, his mother, in Philipsburg and would be back at Ann Arbor, by Thursday for the resumption of school. Harry had no sooner returned to class, when on July 2, 1893, (a Sunday) his father, William rode up to Granite from Philipsburg:
 …in a buckboard drawn by one of his black horses. When he got through with business at his store there he started home and met John Foley, of the Bi-Metallic, who had gone up on horseback. He invited the gentleman to ride down the hill with him. The invitation was accepted and all went well for a short distance. When they got down below the Bi-Metallic mine the horse started to run away, but was controlled, by Mr. Weinstein. They had not gone very far before the horse started again. This time Mr. Foley became very anxious and jumped out of the vehicle while the horse was on a dead run. As he did so he noticed that the horse he had ridden up on and which he had tied to the rear of the buckboard had broken loose, and a man on the road had caught him. In the meantime the horse had run down near the roadhouse with Mr. Weinstein, and as there was a rut in the road, it is supposed that he was thrown in such a manner when the vehicle struck it that his head hung out and he was either struck by the horses hoof or the wheel. At any rate he was picked up and taken into the roadhouse and physicians were summoned and everything possible was done, but to no avail, and he died two or three hours later. Dr. Heine says that the scalp injury itself was not sufficient to cause death and is of the opinion that it was the concussion which killed him. He also lost considerable blood, as the scalp was badly torn (4)..
 His wife and many friends were summoned immediately and went to his side. He never regained consciousness and shortly after they started home with him, in one of their carriages he died. They tried to revive him but were not successful, and the remains were taken home to be prepared for burial.

The funeral took place from the residence, Tuesday morning and his body was escorted to the train, by a large delegation of the Knights of Pythias and Odd Fellow, as he was a member of both organizations. Internment was in the Helena cemetery, following the performance of Jewish rites. Survivors were: his widow, and three children: Harry, Alice and Abe; and a brother Hymen Weinstein, a Philipsburg businessman.

After William’s death, F.J. Wilson, was named to replace him as vice-president of the Merchant and Miners Bank. The Weinstein family’s, sorrow was still raw when another accident befell them, again on a Sunday, just seven weeks after William’s death. Little Abe, the youngest Weinstein child, was not yet fifteen when he drowned at the Bi-Metallic plunge bath. Apparently youngsters were not supposed to go to the area, so he talked some older companions: Johnnie McDonald and R.L. Desourdy, who were still in their sleeping rooms that afternoon, to accompany him. His reason for begging his mother to let him go was because he wanted to learn to swim. His companions stretched a rope across the plunge for Abe to hang onto as the water was twelve to fourteen feet deep. After a while he became tired of playing on the rope and sat on the edge of the bath. “Abe evidently had gained enough confidence in himself to attempt getting into the water alone, but he missed the rope and went down” (5).

 His friends missed him immediately and started diving into the water and a mill hand, John Manning joined the others and finally stayed under water long enough to find and bring him to the surface, but all attempts to revive him failed. “…he displayed more business qualifications than most boys do at their majority. He was well informed on politics and kept posted on all leading questions of the day. With all of this and our fondness for him he is gone, but not forgotten”. His remains were taken to Helena, and laid to rest beside his father.

Demonstrating that William’s business was continued on by his heirs, the Mail had a full front page advertisement for Weinstein’s in the December 19, 1895, issue. In May, 1895, the Weinstein estate was allowed and ordered paid, by the County Commissioners, bills for goods for Mrs. Williams, in the sum of $7.00; Wicks, pauper in the sum of $12.00; and the county jail, two bills for $7.30 and $7.10. Then, in June, the County Commissioner’s, ordered bills for the estate of Wm. Weinstein, be paid in the sum of $16.95, $6.00, $17.00, and $9.25.

Through out the Mail, that year, are full column ads, advertising prices and a raffle drawing for a dress. In 1896, the Weinstein Estate was past due to pay 1895 taxes, in the sum of $1.08, on a Lodging house in Combination. They not only advertised in the Mail, but also in the Granite Mountain Star (6).

In 1895, the Citizen Call, stated Harry Weinstein, who was attending college at Ann Arbor, returned home Tuesday, looking well. Then, an article stated “John W. Dawson, the genial manager of the Weinstein estate, remembered the Mail, office with some substantial goods that cheer the weary, and makes the ordinary citizen feel that he had no trouble on earth”. Obviously the New Year, toast was not lemonade!(7)

 Research revealed that Mrs. Weinstein, accompanied by Miss Alice, left for New York, where Alice would attend school. Next was the advertisement in the January 22, 1898, Philipsburg Mail, stating “all Gum Boots $3.00, at Weinstein’s”.

 Rebecca Dawson, wife of John W. Dawson was the sister of Tessy Weinstein. She died at the, age of thirty two years, in May of 1898. Survivors were: her husband, two children: Verna aged twelve and Mary aged nine; parents: Mr. and Mrs. Nathan Silverman; one brother Sam of Spokane Falls; and two sisters: Mrs. Tessy Weinstein of Philipsburg and Mrs. Benjamin Pizer of Helena (8).

 Mrs. Tessy Weinstein and daughter Alice were again traveling in September 1900. Then I found where, H.L. Weinstein, acquired an interest in a whole sale commission house at Seattle and would be located there, in the future. He also made some real estate purchases in the Puget Sound area. Tessy continued her social life as evidenced by: Mrs. Tessy Weinstein, Mrs. Anna Kroger, Mrs. Conrad Wipf, Mrs. G.W. Young, Mrs. L. J. Hartzell, and Miss M.C. Ryan comprised a party of ladies that visited Mrs. T.G. Botscheider at Sunrise, Tuesday. The ladies were driven out by way of Combination, leaving the city about nine o’clock in the morning and returned home the same evening. Notwithstanding the storm that prevailed during the afternoon and evening, the ladies had a very pleasant time and greatly enjoyed the trip (10).

The February 5, 1904, Philipsburg Mail, carried a full page ad stating H. Weinstein, purchased $15,000 of stock from the Hub Clothing in Butte and that since the stock was bought at 40 cents on the dollar, there was opportunity for great deals. Examples in the ad are: boys two piece suit’s the $1.50 kind on sale at 85 cents; 25 cent bow ties now selling for 5 cents; $1.25 Indian tan buckskin gloves for 85 cents; heavy overalls, for two days only, at 25 cents a pair.

 A few months later was a notice of dissolution that stated:
The co-partnership heretofore conducted by H.I. Weinstein of Seattle, Washington and Alice Weinstein of Philipsburg, Montana, under the firm name of T. Weinstein & Company, at Philipsburg, Montana, is this day dissolved by mutual consent. Mr. H. I. Weinstein retiring from the business and Alice Weinstein retaining the entire business. Alice will be responsible for all liabilities of the co-partnership and will collect all notes and accounts due the aforesaid co-partnership. Dated at Seattle, Washington this 21 day of June 1904. Signed H.I. Weinstein and Alice Weinstein (11).
Taxes paid by T. Weinstein & Company in 1904, were $652.33, demonstrating they still had a thriving business. Then two years later, Alice Weinstein, married E. Archer Hannah, January 30 in Chicago, Illinois. Mr. Hannah was a former clerk at the Bi-metallic. They made their home in an apartment in the Weinstein Block (12).

Next, Miss Emma Weinstein, the oldest daughter of Mr. and Mrs. H. Weinstein, married Frank Burk, in Anaconda, on September 5, 1908. The ceremony was performed by Rev. H.A. Carnahan, at the Presbyterian Manse. Mr. Burk was employed as a blacksmith at the Hope mine. The newly weds made their home in Philipsburg, after a brief honeymoon (13).

July 19, 1918, Philipsburg Mail, headlines stated “H. Weinstein dies Thursday” with a short article following that announces that Hyman (Herman) Weinstein, died in a Butte Hospital, the day before and that particulars would appear in the next week Mail. Also, the interment was expected to take place in Helena on the day of publication.

Hyman, sixty five years of age, came to Philipsburg in 1888 and established a general furnishing store, which he ran for almost thirty years, before he retired. He was survived by his wife Freda and daughters: Miss Lena, of Philipsburg and Mrs. Frank (Emma) Burk, of Florida and son Victor, the Philipsburg City Treasurer. Hyman’s funeral was performed in Helena and he was interred beside his son, who died several years before (14).

In 1922, Hyman’s son, Victor Weinstein, was appointed by the School Board, as an election Judge for the upcoming school election. Then Hyman’s wife Freda, died at the age of seventy four, in Missoula on February 3, 1928. She moved to Missoula two years prior, to live with her daughters, and was buried next to Herman (Hyman) and two of their sons, in the Home of Peace Cemetery, in Helena. Survivors were: daughters Miss Lena Weinstein and Mrs. Emma Burke, both of Missoula (15). 

Research failed to reveal anymore information on the remaining Weinstein’s, which leads me to believe Victor must have also moved away. Since the family burial plot is in Helena, I need to research headstones and find when he died.

While discussing William Weinstein in the beginning paragraphs, the Merchant and Miner’s Bank was mentioned. The community was seeing good times, early in 1896, according to an announcement stating the Merchants’ and Miners’ Bank had individual deposits amounting to $120, 828.62. The current directors were A.A. McDonald, August Greenheck, L.C. Degenhart, Webb Vincent, F.J. Wilson, John S. Miller, D.O. Eshbaugh, C.H. Eshbaugh, and M.E.H. Gannon. In that same year D.M. Durfee, was the Judge, L.C. (Levi) Johnson the Sheriff and A.A. Fairbairn was Treasurer, of Granite County.

The good news of prosperity, did not last long, with the bank going into receivership, in the Helena Court, in the fall of 1896. C.H. Eshbaugh, for some reason, was charged with misapplication of funds, as the bank cashier and after a trying time was found not guilty, after five hours of jury deliberation, on one charge and the second charge was to be postponed for the term, according to an article from the Helena Independent, May 5, edition.

The Eshbaugh family, made the best of it, during this travail, as evidenced by the following:
C.H. Eshbaugh and sister, Miss S.B. Eshbaugh, entertained several of their friends on New Year’s night at their pleasant home on Sutter Street, which on this occasion, was made more brilliant than usual. The pastime of the evening consisted largely of vocal and instrumental music, furnished by Miss Annie H. Price, Miss Eleanor Ballard, Miss Ethelyn Caldwell, Mr. John R. Lucas and Mr. C.H. Eshbaugh. During the evening Misses Ballard and Price mystified the party with instructions in the black art and mystic writing. Those present were: Miss Avy Short, Miss Madge Short, Miss Ethelyn Caldwell, Miss Eleanor Ballard, Miss Annie Price, Miss Amanda Featherman, And Messrs. John C, Adams, John R. Lucas, David Pizer, Mason Bruner and John W. Opp (16).
Headstones in the Philipsburg cemetery, show that Mrs. C.H. (May) Eshbaugh, died at the age of twenty eight years, seven months and twenty three days, on May 27, 1893. This was one day after the death of their infant daughter Katherine May. Unfortunately, research has failed to find an obituary for Mr. Eshbaugh and he is not buried in the Philipsburg cemetery.

Pioneers of this time, were great dreamers and because of this, ideas were accomplished that were amazing, but sometimes the dream was a bust. Evidence of this is found in the following researched article, in 1894: “Engman Jones has a locating party near Philipsburg, finding the most accessible entrance for the B.A. & P. railroad to the Bitter Root valley, so says the Standard” (17).

Obviously this dream was promoted by Marcus Daly and languished as he became embroiled in the Clark-Daly battle. Then when his health failed in 1899, the dream died with him on November 12, 1900, at the Netherland Hotel, in New York City.


A few years later the Philipsburg Mail carried the following article related to the above railroad reference:
Allan (?sic) Morrison formerly a resident of this city has gone into business at Anaconda, succeeding the Smith Brother’s, who for several years have done a flourishing business at the Smelter City. Concerning the sale, the Anaconda correspondent of the Butte Inter Mountain has the following to say: The sale of a milk ranch west of Anaconda and one of the largest ones in these parts, was consummated a few days ago, but the price is unknown. By the deal Kenneth D. Smith sells out to Allan Morrison of Philipsburg and will go into the cattle raising business on Ross’ Fork of Rock creek. The property sold comprises over one hundred head of milch cows and all the apparatus for conducting a first-class dairy, bringing a splendid trade in Anaconda, which took Mr. Smith four or five years to build up. A year or more ago Mr. Smith purchased what is known as the Kaiser ranch on Ross’ Fork which will be the headquarters of his business in that section. There is abundant range close at hand, which makes it a second Big Hole for cattle raising. Mr. Smith is familiar in all of Deer Lodge and Granite Counties and will be in a position to take advantage of stock purchases at opportune times, and will no doubt reap a good profit in his business. He is situated on the B.A. & P., from Anaconda to Hamilton, which according to present indications will be constructed during the next two years. The rural resources of that section are numerous and Mr. Smith with his honest abilities will soon be counted as the bonanza stockman of Western Montana (18).
 The railroad from Anaconda to Hamilton certainly did not materialize, which markedly changed Mr. Smith’s ability to become the Bonanza Stockman. Beside the fact the ranch has at its best only been able to provide a meager existence to the people who tried to earn a living there. This is probably the reason why the Kaiser ranch and most of the surrounding early ranches are now a small part of a very large ranch: Bauer’s 3H.

Morrison was active around Philipsburg at least as early as 1893, where I found “The bid of Duncan, Morrison and McRae to build the gutter on the south side of Broadway was referred to the Street and Alley committee” (19).

Later that year was the sad news that the little daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Allen Morrison died of cholera infantum Monday and was buried September 10. Funeral services were conducted by Rev. C. Howard Grube (20). There is a headstone in the Philipsburg cemetery with the inscription: Annie Ray Morrison, born February 1, 1891, died September 10, 1893, which is obviously this child. Her grave is block seventeen, lot sixteen, grave two and in grave four is Allen Morrison born 1862 and died 1923. In Grave one, is Lizzie Morrison born and died on May 3, 1893.

The Allen Morrison house, on North Holland Street, burned on March 16, 1923. The family was awakened by smoke at 2 am. The garage, chicken coop, barn and furniture in the front of the house were saved. The house was covered by insurance according to the March 16, 1923, Philipsburg Mail.

 Allen died after a lingering illness at the age of fifty five, on December 4, 1923. He was born at Bury in the Province of Quebec, Canada, on May 2, 1867, and took up the stone trade in Barre, Vermont, when he was twenty years old. He married Mrs. Mary D. Smith of Cabot, Vermont in 1890 and the next year the couple traveled to Granite. Allen became a United States citizen in 1894. He was survived by his wife Mary; five children: John of Louisville, Kentucky, Albert, Edward, Bell and Donald of Philipsburg; four sisters and two brothers: Miss Bell Morrison and Duncan Morrison of San Francisco, California, Mrs. Anna McKenzie of Bury, Canada, Mrs. Anna Morris of Los Gatos, California, Dan Morrison and Miss Kate Morrison of Vancouver B.C., Canada.

The funeral was held from the family home in west Philipsburg with Rev. Wm. R. Scott of the Presbyterian Church, performing the service with interment in the Philipsburg cemetery. The pallbearers were: Malcolm McDonald, Angus Murray, Vatis Page, George B. Murray, C.E. Kennedy, and Allen B. McKenzie (21).

Mary “Garr” Morrison, born in 1872 died at the age of ninety two, on March 20, 1964, in a Stevensville Rest Home. She had moved to Butte in 1962, to live with her daughter Mrs. Emmett Edgar and then moved to Stevensville. Mary served for many years, in the Philipsburg community as a practical nurse and delivered a number of babies. Her funeral was held in the Philipsburg Community Church with Rev. Wiley performing the service. She was interred next to Allen, in the Philipsburg cemetery and pallbearers were: Marvin Morrison, Allen Morrison, Dan Morrison, and John Edgar plus grandsons: Lee Mentzer of Missoula and William Mason (22).

Donald Morrison, born June 8, 1911, to Mary and Allen Morrison, married Marian F. Lindstadt, on December 3, 1938 (23). Marian, born in 1915 died in 1973. She is buried in block nineteen, lot fifty three, grave ten.

Daniel Morrison was born to Albert “Sox” and Anna Saunders Morrison. He married Joan “Cookie” Webster, from Butte, on June 20, 1956. She was the daughter of Frank and Marion DeLong Webster, and worked as a teacher’s aide at the Philipsburg Elementary School from 1973 to 1997. To this marriage was born four children: Jason who was living in Alaska in 2008 with wife Charlene; Desiree married to Lee Mason of Hall; Heath living in Great Falls in 2008 and Jim living in Philipsburg, in 2008. Donald served as a Pvt. in the Infantry in WWII and died December 15, 1964. His ashes are buried in his mother’s grave.

Edward, born in 1900, died in 1945, and is buried in the Philipsburg cemetery next to Annie Ray Morrison, discussed in a previous paragraph.

Albert (Sox) Morrison born in 1899 died in 1962 and is buried next to his wife Anna Saunders Morrison. Anna, born in 1903, died in 1992. In the next grave is Marving (Marvin) Morrison, born 1927 and died 1976, whose headstone stated: Husband and Son. Of interest is that Marvin had a daughter named April. April was the mother of Kris, fathered by my Uncle Walt Bentz. Kris lives in Clarkston, Idaho and has two sons and a daughter.

Other children born to Albert and Anna were: Lois (Tuss) who died in Opportunity on April 9, 2005; Allen (Scotty) married Marie Wickberg and died April 29, 2007; Collin currently lives in Deer Lodge; Florence (Flossie) married William McCale. His family is discussed in Book II. Flossie currently lives an active life in Philipsburg; Gayle (Mickey) married Rodney Hobaugh and died September 6, 2005 of Lung Cancer; Barbara (Reid) lives in Rathdrum, Idaho; and Joyce born March 29, 1923 married William H. Mason and died May 4, 1987. Born to Joyce and William was Bruce (1949-2005), Colleen Byam (1945-2006) and Sylvia Lockett. All the above family except Gayle is buried in the Philipsburg cemetery.

There was an M.S. Morrison, in business with D.N. McDonald according to the March 27, 1890, Philipsburg Mail. Research also revealed another Morrison was present in the area. “Dave Conkling, William Morrison and William Perkins, who made the rich gold discovery in the Moose Lake District last fall, are making preparations to go out there and begin work on their property about March 15 (25).” 

The next reference found, is an obituary for William Morrison, who died on December 13, 1904, at the age of forty five. He had lived in Philipsburg, as a miner, for the previous eighteen years. William was employed as a miner and a member of the Granite Miners Union WFM No. 4 and Philipsburg Lodge No. 559 Brotherhood of American Yoemen. Born on March 17, 1859, in Rock Island County, Illinois, he moved to Iowa in 1865. Then, Nevada in 1882, Philipsburg in 1886 and married Hilda Lucht, in 1892. She died on February 20, 1902, leaving him three children, Ralph, Clara and Hilda.

On October 19, 1904, William married Miss Lottie Graham, of Philipsburg. Survivors were his wife and three children and a sister Mrs. Robert Kilpatrick of Philipsburg, plus an aged mother in Iowa and three brothers and a sister (not named in the obituary). The funeral was held on December 15, at the Presbyterian Church with Rev. J.B. Butter officiating and the graveside services were performed by the Miner’s Union and the Yoemen (26). William is buried next to Hilda, who was born on April 12, 1871.

There is a Charlotte M. Morrison, buried in the Philipsburg cemetery, block twenty seven, lot five, grave four, with a headstone stating she was born September 9, 1881 and died May 22, 1917. At this time, I do not know whom she was related to.

Research also revealed a fire at an Alex Morrison home on July 4, 1929. The neighbor saw the smoke and got the Morrison children: Raymond age 12, a sister age 10 and two smaller children, plus a friend Dorothy Baker out of the house safely. It was believed the fire was started by a spark from fireworks smoldering on the dry shingles. The house on Sansome Street was owned by J.J. McDonald and was covered by insurance (27).


Nicholas Noe, was discusses earlier in chapter II, as an early settler. Born in 1849, he died in 1936, but I have been unable to find his obituary. His wife Helen (Ella Kitchberg), born in Grant County, Wisconsin in 1861, according to her obituary and 1859 according to her headstone, came to Montana in 1881. She married Mr. Noe, in Butte, that year. Shortly after the marriage they moved to Philipsburg where Mr. Noe set up a blacksmith business, which he was still operating at the time of Mrs. Noe‘s death, November 29, 1927. Her funeral was held at St. Philip’s Catholic Church, with internment in the Philipsburg cemetery. Survivors were husband Nicholas, daughter Hilda Reed and grandson Glenn Reed of Chicago (28).

Nicholas born in 1849 died in 1936 and is buried next to Helen. Buried next to their graves, is Hilda Noe Reed with the birth date of 1882, but her death date is unreadable.

W.E. Moore 

A person mentioned previously was Attorney W.E. Moore. I have found very little about his life. The following is what I know or have surmised. His daughter Josephine married Harry D. McLeary of California, in Missoula on July 11, 1923, with Attorney and Mrs. Moore present at the ceremony. Next, I found where Mr. Moore married Sarah, L. Abbott, who had lived in Philipsburg for the past year, on June 9, 1926. Obviously the mother of Josephine had died in the interim. Attending the wedding were Thomas and W.E. Moore Jr., sons of the groom and the article stated that Mr. Moore had practiced law in the vicinity for years and had spent eight years in Missoula but later returned to Philipsburg (29).

There is one William Moore buried in the Philipsburg cemetery, born September 5, 1900 and died August 4, 1974, who may be the above Junior. If research reveals an obituary, I will discuss it in a later post.


Miss Adelaide Durfee, spoken of in the Weinstein section, was married in 1884, to Thomas Botscheider, who was a building contractor. Their marriage took place in in Philipsburg. Born March 10, 1853, in Duansesburgh, Schenectady County, New York, she moved to Montana in 1882. She died at the family home on Kearney Street, after several months of illness, on July 15, 1923. After a service at the family home, with Rev. Fred Anstice of the Methodist Church officiating she was interred in the Philipsburg cemetery. Survivors were: her husband, brothers D.M. Durfee of Philipsburg and Oscar Durfee of New York, sister Louisa Ruff of New York, three nieces: Mrs. Buford Collings of Oklahoma, Mrs. C.E. Proctor, of Proctor, Montana and Sister Madeline, in the convent in Missoula and a nephew Irving Durfee in Minnesota (30). The Durfee family is discussed in the ranches around Philipsburg chapter, in Book Two.

Thomas Botscheider, born February 29, 1852, was a very prominent business man in Granite County. He was also involved in the local politics, so is mentioned throughout the chapters of this book. He died February 21,1940 and was interred next to Adelaide, in the Philipsburg cemetery.


Another notable asset, to the history of Granite County was Nicholas H. Connolly, spoken of in other chapters. Progressive Men of the State of Montana, stated he was born in the County of Armagh, Ireland on August 19, 1825, the fourth of a family of six children. Immigrating to America, at the age of twenty three, he arrived in New York and his first job was as a clerk in a dry goods store in Philadelphia. In 1855, he moved to St. Louis, Missouri, where he continued in sales of dry goods. Then in 1862, he married Miss Elizabeth McDonnell, in Philadelphia. His next venture was traveling to Idaho Territory in 1863, arriving at Fort Benton on a boat trip up the Missouri River. It is unknown if his wife traveled with him on this trip or followed at a later date. He made the acquaintance of Judge Pemberton, on that trip while traveling from St. Joseph, Missouri. Shortly after his arrival, Montana Territory was formed, out of the eastern section of Idaho Territory.

He settled in Deer Lodge County then in 1865 opened a general store at Gold Creek. He also served as Postmaster of Gold Creek during the administration of President Lincoln and Johnson. Being a politically active citizen in a rapidly changing country, he won the election for Deer Lodge County Commissioner. Connolly received 1,376 votes to 1,375 votes for W. Roberts, 978 votes for Wm. Prouse, and 988 votes for Conrad Kohrs, in 1867. He served as County Assessor of Deer Lodge County and ran against W.W. Jones for Sheriff, as a Democrat in 1871, garnering 1015 votes to Jones’ 1250 (31).

In 1877, he moved to Philipsburg and opened a general store. While conducting business in his general store N. H., became active in extending credit to the mining enterprises that were the basis of the commerce in Philipsburg, during that era.

Involved in organizing and serving in the Irish Lodge, called the Ancient Order of Hibernians, Nicholas, hosted the Hibernians in his Silver Lake house, for a St. Patrick’s evening Ball, that was a success, with seventy one tickets sold at five dollars each and dancing lasted until 4 a.m according to the March 25, 1881, Mail.

Also in 1881, Nicholas, served on a coroner’s jury in the homicide of Eugene Garland, with the following verdict:
An inquisition holden (sic) in the back room of George W. Morse’s butcher shop, in the town of Philipsburg, Deer Lodge County, Montana Territory on the 25 day of March A. D. 1881, before me, Davis E. Thomas, Justice of the Peace, acting coroner of said county, upon the body of Eugene Garland, there lying dead, by the jurors whose names are hereunto subscribed: The said juror’s upon their oath do say that the said Eugene Garland came to his death by a pistol shot wound feloniously fired from the hands of Elisha Reed.
The murder occurred after the two men had attended a dance and Mr. Reed (a married man with three children) thought that the woman Mr. Garland had taken to the dance had made some remarks about the Reed family. The episode is discussed in length in the Amerine Chapter, as Tom McKay, was also a witness (32).

Occurring at this time, the Algonquin Mine and the Emma and Salmon mines, near Philipsburg produced some $400,000 in bullion. All of this ore was being processed at the Algonquin Mill that was two years old, in 1882. The investors thought they were doing great, when a telegram arrived from the Philadelphia office, on March 16, 1882, directing a total suspension of milling and mining operations at Hasmark. The company did not have enough money to make its payroll of $15,000. When Pardee (President and Managing Superintendent), arrived from Philadelphia, he reported the bondholders in Philadelphia, had foreclosed their mortgage of $107,000 and were advertising the property at a Sheriff’s sale. Obviously the $400,000, had not been utilized to pay off the debt, but Mr. Pardee, was certain that the Algonquin Company, would be reorganized and achieve the success everyone believed it could when the mill was built (33).

Meanwhile, the local creditors led by William Weinstein and Nick Connolly got a judgment in Deer Lodge County court for $8,000, but the bondholders sale took precedence” (34).

The property was bought by former Algonquin President E. C. Markley and Associates. Nicholas Connolly thought that he could recover what was owed to him by leasing the property. The endeavor was a bust and “Connolly lost everything but the esteem of his fellow townsmen.” (35)

The Connolly property was attached for $13,000.00. The ore was too low grade and the mill could not produce the money needed to pay the workers, thus, leaving $4,000.00 due in back wages, over the $13,000.00 of the property attachment. What happened to the property is not clear, but on May 5, 1887, The Philipsburg Mail, reported:
For many years Nicholas Connolly has lived in and occupied as a business house the two story frame on Broadway, well-known throughout this section as the Connolly Store. Recent surveys place the building partly on an adjoining lot, the property of George W. Morse, of New Chicago. This morning Mr. C. was notified to move his store building. It is hardly necessary to say that until matters between the parties are settled there will be h--l on deck.


 An advertisement in the September 1, 1887 Philipsburg Mail stated:

 “Removed! Removed!
 My Entire Stock Gents’ Furnishings, Notions Stationary ETC., to Connolly’s Building, opposite Old Stand
Current Historical listings name and picture the two story as Ben Pizer Building in Philipsburg. This apparently is the Connolly Building that Pizer obtained and moved into in 1887. The historical marker states it was a one story structure on the east end of Broadway. The article in the Philipsburg Mail stated it was a two story frame building when Connolly owned it (36).

I also found an article stating “John W. Wein is helping his brother Julius to sell bankrupt stock at Pizer’s old stand. Three day auction by I. Karatopsy & J. Rode Bough (37).

Mrs. Ben (Jessie) Pizer, a daughter of Wm. Weinstein, died March 6, 1937 at her daughter Mary Davis’ home in Sacramento, California and was buried next to Ben, who died in 1921, in Helena. Jessie lived in Helena, from June 1869 until moving to Philipsburg in 1878. They returned to Helena in 1895 and after the 1935, earthquake destroyed the Pizer home, Jessie moved to California to live with Mary. Survivors were: daughters: Mary, Lottie Herchfeld (sic) of Los Angeles and son David of Helena. Lottie Pizer had married to Bernard Hirschfeld, a merchant of Helena on Sunday April 11, 1897 at the family home, on Fifth Avenue in Helena (38).

Connolly Cont’d 

Obviously, Connolly had other property in Philipsburg as research revealed in 1918:

Attorney and Mrs. W. E. Moore, of Missoula have been visiting in the city for several days. While here Mr. and Mrs. Moore are seeing to the remodeling of the Connolly property adjoining the City Hall, which has been purchased by Mrs. Morton of Missoula, mother of Mrs. Moore (38).
 It was apparent this hard working man developed a new business to redress his business losses, as stated by an ad in the Philipsburg Mail, June 30, 1887:
N. H. Connolly, Accountant and Bookkeeper, Neglected accounts Carefully Examined and Correctly Balanced., Office with F. D. Brown, Philipsburg, Mont.
Metschter, writing in the Philipsburg Mail in 1988, stated: “Philipsburg took him to its heart. It repeatedly elected him Justice of the Peace. He supported himself on the fees from that office for the next 23 years”.

This statement comes into question though when you read The Citizen Call, during 1893 and 1894. A petition was circulated stating:
We the undersigned residents and taxpayers of Granite County respectfully request your honorable body to appoint to the office of Justice of the Peace of Philipsburg Township, N.H. Connolly, to the unexpired term of A.G. Berthoud, deceased. Mr. Connolly is competent and we heartily recommend his appointment.
 Following this statement were eighty six signatures that included those mentioned in this book, such as: J.D. Kennedy, Erastus Amerine, William Neu, L.C. Degenhart, John Rodda, John Kaiser, Herman Kaiser, T.S. McKay, W.L. Brown, E. A. Cralle, Rupp and Greenheck, Conrad Wipf, John H. Cole and J.C. McLeod (40).

Then, a very acrid letter to the editor was published alluding that the petition was inappropriate because any swindler or unsavory character could sign the petition and that the intent of the petition made it look like the voters were having their rights of selection usurped. Whether Connolly fulfilled the reminder of the term or not is not discussed in further issues, but he was named an alternate for the Democratic election of 1894 (41).

The tax records of Granite County in 1893 show Connolly assets as follows: A log building, frame house and store stock valued at $11,055.00 in Philipsburg plus $300.00 in Firearms. The average price of a firearm at that time was $45.00. He also paid taxes on a frame house in Drummond valued at $450.00. There were a total of six lines on the tax roles dedicated to Connolly and two of those including a partner, John Cole, the first Granite County Sheriff. Since Connolly was still being assessed for taxes on his large holding of property in 1893, the creditors must not have foreclosed until after that date (42) . During this time Nicholas and Elizabeth were raising four children: Mary E., Maggie V., Nicholas J., and Anna P.

Also in 1893, very sarcastic comments were editorialized in the Philipsburg Mail, calling the Citizen Call newspaper The Tool, and implying that Nicholas Connolly was the exalted editor, etc. Possibly this came about because of the petition that was circulated trying to get him appointed as Justice of the Peace, and circumventing an election, spoken of in a previous paragraph.

Nicholas ran for the position of Justice of the Peace, for Philipsburg Township, in 1894 as a democrat and the results of the election were: Connolly, Nicholas H., 130, Miller, John H. Democrat, 280, Oechsli, Harry, Republican, 207, Sharpe, Morris, Republican, 343, Thibault, E., Populist, 56, Fleischer, L. J., Populist, 46. Obviously, losing to Morris Sharpe by a large margin, there was at least one term Nicholas was not the Justice of the Peace, of Philipsburg Township (43).

In 1896, Nicholas Connolly, made application for the position of Enrolling Clerk for the State Legislature. Prior to this, in 1896, research revealed:
Nicholas Connolly and daughter Miss Annie went down to Houston, Missoula County, Monday to attend the funeral arrangements of Mr. Connolly’s daughter, Mrs. W.H. Presley, who died at that place Sunday morning. They returned home to Philipsburg Wednesday evening. The surviving relatives have the sincere sympathy of a large circle of friends in Philipsburg, and in fact western Montana, where Mr. Connolly has resided for over a quarter of a century. The deceased leaves four children and a husband (44).

 I do not know if this daughter was Mary or Maggie. Nicholas was busy that year as he also served as Deputy Sheriff according to the following article:
Deputy Sheriff N.H. Connolly came in on the Saturday train with Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Guinanne of Bearmouth, who were placed under arrest for resisting an officer. Deputy Argall, sometime ago went down to Bearmouth regarding a man named Ryan living next door to Guinanne’s, and they had attempted to put the officer off their land (45).
 The presiding judge set the bonds for $250 and $100 and the Guinanne’s were released until a trial date. I do not find any other reference to Connolly being a deputy, so assume he was deputized as a special deputy to perform this one function. This Guinanne family will be discussed in Book II covering the northern part of Granite County.

During the short time Quigley was a boom town, also in 1896, I found “N.H. Connolly, T.C. Congdon and Levi Johnson departed for New Chicago as witnesses in the case of State of Montana vs. Starbard and Green.
Then in 1897, he was active as an involved community patron:
The public reading room, located in the Connolly building, has been running for three weeks and is proving to be quite a success, judging from the patronage it is receiving. This is an institution that should be supported by the community, as it affords a place for our people in which to while away their leisure moments and at the same time improve their minds. The expenses of keeping the reading room running are rather light, but it can hardly be expected that a few can afford to defray the expense alone. Those who would like to assist in a worthy cause can do so by calling on President Will Loring or Secretary Walter Kroger (47).
Nicholas, was appointed Deputy County assessor under Will Neu, and performed those duties whenever work in that office required his services. A capable accountant, the article went on to state he would perform the duty of the office well.

The March 11, 1898, Philipsburg Mail, stated the official bond for Nicholas Connolly, Justice of the Peace was ordered filed. Then the May 13, 1898, Philipsburg Mail, had N. H. Connolly listed as one of the eighty three volunteers for the Spanish American War. N.H., born in 1825, was a volunteer at the age of seventy two.

The next reference found was Nicholas named as the judge who sentenced H. Triggs and Joseph Morton to serve ninety days in jail and pay a $100 fine, each for using a shotgun to hold up a funeral. The duo was released on habeas corpus proceedings, when Attorney G.A. Maywood brought the proceedings to Judge Napton in Anaconda and because of a defect in the judgment, the prisoners were ordered released. County Attorney Shull issued a new warrant for their arrest, that was awaiting them, when they returned from Anaconda and they were again arrested and lodged in jail.

The records show N. Connolly, registered as a voter, of Granite County, for the years 1884, 1885 and 1886. His birth place was listed as Ireland and his age as sixty five, sixty six, and sixty seven (48).

Then history becomes confusing, The Philipsburg Mail, of June 3, 1898, stated:
on May 28, 1898, Nicholas H. Connolly aged fifty two, died in Philipsburg, Montana and was interred in the Philipsburg Cemetery.
Next is the comment “Mrs. Connolly, mother of the late N. H. Connolly, shipped her household effects and furniture to Gold Creek during the week, where she will make her home in the future with her daughter Mrs. John Keenan”.

 A comment in the December 30, 1898, Philipsburg Mail, stated Mrs. Mary Connolly, came over from Deer Lodge, to look after some business last Tuesday (is this Miss Mary Connolly?). A possible answer to this conundrum was discussed with a caustic article in the October 19, 1893, Philipsburg Mail, which stated
…we have been considering the advisability of employing a few old timers who are familiar with his career (N.H. Connolly), to write it up from the time he clerked for his estimable uncle, N. Connolly Sr., at the mouth of Gold creek to date.
Therefore I have to believe that the 1898 obituary is for the son of N. Connolly Sr. The article in Progressive Men of Montana, published in 1901, described N. H. from the County of Armagh, Ireland as still alive at that time.

Also, on September 13, 1901, Judge Connolly’s court heard the case of George S. Johnson, who lost a finger in an assault by J.T. Pritchard with a hand saw. The Philipsburg Mail, September 20, 1901, stated that on the regular session--fifth day of the County Commissioners proceedings, N. Connolly, was paid $36.00 for his services, as Justice of the Peace.

The final obituary was found in the August 24, 1906, Philipsburg Mail, stating Judge N. Connolly passed away Tuesday August 21, at Wallace, Idaho where he had been visiting his children. It goes on to cover the same history of his birth in Ireland in 1825 and travels to Montana in 1863. It also lists survivors as two daughters and one son in Wallace, Idaho and two sisters: Mrs. John Keenan and Mrs. Jettie Jordan of Gold Creek. I have not found any obituary for Elizabeth his wife, or two of the daughters. The next news article found is a publication of the Notice to Creditors, for the Nicholas Connolly estate, published by Walter W. Kroger, Administrator of the estate on September 20, 1912. 

The questions raised are: Was the death in May of 1898, of N. Connolly, his nephew? We know a son is still alive, according to the obituary in 1906, because that is who Nicholas was visiting when he died in Wallace, Idaho; the first obituary gives the death age as fifty two, the Nicholas we are speaking of would have been seventy two going on seventy three on that date. The 1906, obituary does not give an age but gives the August 19, 1825, birth date. We know nothing about other members of his family coming to America, yet his sisters were still living in Gold Creek when his 1906, obituary was published. Therefore the newspaper comment in December 1898, stating that the mother of the late N.H. Connolly was moving to Gold Creek to make her home with her daughter Mrs. John Keenan is validated by the 1906, obituary stating that Judge Connolly was survived by two sisters in Gold Creek one being, Mrs. John Keenan. What was the reason causing six years to pass before publishing the notice to creditors for the estate?

I have found mention of another Nicholas D. Connelly, visiting Philipsburg that was a nephew of F.D. Sayrs, but the spelling is with an e and he was still alive when his uncle died in 1935. There is a record in City Hall of an N. Connelly buried in the Philipsburg cemetery in block nineteen, lot forty five grave six, but there is no headstone to determine what the date of death was, or if the name was misspelled on the file card. This is probably the 1898, N. Connolly’s grave. Nothing in the 1906, obituary stated his body would be brought back to Philipsburg for burial. One thing known for certain, the name Nicholas H. Connolly, is prominently embedded in the history of the county of Deer Lodge and later Granite, when it was carved from Deer Lodge in 1893. Many aspects of business, mining, and justice will forever be affected by the ambition, political manipulation, monetary investments and perseverance of Nicholas H. Connolly.


The name of Kroger is found frequently referenced in early Deer Lodge and Granite County newspapers. Charles met his wife Anna Rusch, while she was visiting in Deer Lodge. Anna, with sister, Dora, traveled from their home, in Schleswig-Holstein, Germany, during the fall of 1869, to visit with their uncle, a U.S. Senator in Iowa. Then, they traveled to Montana Territory to visit friends, in Deer Lodge. Charles and Anna were married on November 17, 1870, and made their home in Beartown, for four years, where he placer mined. In 1874, they visited family in Germany and when they returned to the States, lived for a few more months, in Beartown.

The August 17, 1875, New Northwest, stated:
Charley Kroger of Beartown bought a lot of ground from Major Graham in the Waterbury addition to Philipsburg, last week and built a brewery in the eastern end of the Broadway Gulch.
The brewery was operated by Charles, until his death on July 28, 1898. He had been ill five weeks, from asthmatic troubles, which no one expected to cause his death (49).

Charles, born in Holstein, Germany on November 5, 1832, began work at the age of sixteen, on the Keil Railroad, as a brakeman, for 4 years. In 1862, he came to the United States and California, where he worked in the salt ponds for two years, then moved to Boise Basin in Idaho, to mine. The family was told that in his travels he walked across the Isthmus of Panama (50). In 1865 he moved to Baker City, Oregon. Then he lived in Portland, Oregon, Big Bend, British Columbia, Walla Walla, Washington and finally Montana. Charles worked in the placer mines in Elk Creek and then moved to Beartown, where he mined and became a brewer. When the brewery was opened in Philipsburg, Kroger brew, was sold under the name Silver Spray, and continued to be marketed by that name, while owned by John Knox.

Three of the children: Mrs. Dora Hauck, Walter, and Henry plus wife Anna, were at his bedside at the time of his death. Fred arrived from Gregson, where he was employed, before the funeral. Charles, an active member in the Flint Creek Lodge of the Mason’s since 1878 had held the office of treasurer since inception. He was also a member of Pearl Chapter No. 14, Order of the Eastern Star; Cable Lodge No. 9, I.O.O.F. where he was elected to the office of Treasurer, January 1897; and Golden Encampment No. 2, I.O.O.F. and always attended the meetings regularly. “During his residence here, by strict economy and untiring industry, he built up the extensive brewery business which bears his name” (51).

On Sunday July 31, the full body of Mason’s marched from the Masonic temple to the Odd Fellows and then the two bodies marched to the Kroger residence, where an impressive service was held. The Order of Eastern Star performed all of the songs. At the Philipsburg cemetery the Odd Fellows conducted a service by George W. Suppinger and William D. Riple and then the Masonic Rites were administered by Acting Worshipful Master R. Getty, followed by songs by the Order of Eastern Star. His son Fred Kroger, M.J. Kroger, a brother, from Butte, Mr. and Mrs. J.H. Lehsou, of Missoula and William Haltenhoff, of Anaconda, arrived in time to attend the service. Pallbearers were: D.S. McLeod, H.T. Cummings, Dr. E.F. Conyngham, Valentine Jacky, J.C. McLeod and Angus Johnston. 

One of the bright spots in the county for the depressed year of 1893 was the announcement of the pending marriage of Dora, the only Kroger daughter, to Lawrence Hauck. Lawrence was the well known book keeper for the Freyschlag-Huffman store. The wedding occurred the evening of August 24, at the Kroger residence. In the following issue the wedding was described in minute detail, including every guest and the gift they presented to the newly weds. But there was no comment about a honeymoon or where they would be living. Obviously, because the Freyschlag-Huffman store had been closed and re-opened, prior to the wedding and was placed in receivership by the sheriff the first week in October, a honeymoon was probably the last thing on the groom’s mind (52).

During 1895, Brewery competition appeared to be coming to town, when it was announced that the Centennial Brewery of Butte was going to open up a:
branch house here, occupying the building just completed by Geo. A. Cartier, and will be in opposition to the water company by selling beer for five cents. Mr. Eck of this place will take charge of the business.
In the next issue of the Mail, George Cartier, vehemently responded, stating that in no way was his building going to house a brewery (53). Cartier is discussed later in this book.

To provide some estimate of how the brewery business was doing in 1896, taxes for Charles Kroger were $139.18. Then as a comparison taxes paid by Charles Kroger Est. in 1904, totaled $229.38, according to the December 30, 1904, Philipsburg Mail.

Numerous news articles were found such as in 1900, Kroger’s delivery team ran away scattering empty beer kegs, before the wagon was caught on a fire hydrant, causing some sign damage, but no one was hurt .Then news coming from the Boulder District in 1905 stated Henry Kroger moved back to Philipsburg after completing representation work, for W.W. Kroger, his brother.

An article in February 1910, stated,

the Kroger Brewery began harvesting their ice crop at Kroger’s Pond, with a large number of teams hauling ice to town. The ice was twelve inches thick and very clear (54).
The Kroger brewery was sold to brewer, Joseph Eichert, a current employee and John Knoch of Bozeman on August 1, 1912. Knoch had businesses in Dillon, Bozeman and Idaho, so would be devoting his time to the other interests, while Eichert, would be running the Silver Spray, according to the August 4, 1912, Philipsburg Mail.

Josephine Althea, the daughter of Fred Kroger, died of cerebral meningitis on November 17, 1912, at the age of three months and one day. Her funeral took place at the Kroger home after the arrival of the afternoon train, so Rev. W. J. Atwood of the Episcopal Church, could be present to perform the service and she was interred in the family plot in the Philipsburg cemetery (55).

 Anna lived in the home by the brewery until 1912, then purchased a residence on Broadway and lived there until her death, February 25, 1928. Born on November 23, 1844, she was almost eighty four years of age. Her son Henry was credited, as the first baby born in Philipsburg, on October 25, 1875. Other children, born of this union were sons: Walter and Fred and daughter Dora. Fred was in the first graduating class of Granite County High School in 1898. Anna a charter member of O.E.S. Pearl Chapter No. 14, chartered in 1894, was the oldest Past Matron, at the time of her death. Known for her flower garden, she spent the last few years of her life making patch work quilts for her grandchildren and had just completed the eighteenth.

Arising at 6:30 o’clock Saturday, she was in the dining room when she became ill and asked her son, Walter, to assist her to bed, where she died a few minutes later. Survivors were: her children listed in a previous paragraph and three sisters: Mrs. Dora C. Lehsou, Missoula; Mrs. Catherine Meinert, Keystone, Iowa; and Mrs. Marie Kalatzesky in Germany; a brother Claude Rusch in San Diego, California and twelve grandchildren: Walter and Wilford Kroger, Herman, Elsie Dora, and John Hauck all of Philipsburg; Mrs. John B. Taylor and Mrs. Lawrence Harris of Butte; Marian and Robert Kroger of Pomona, California; Mrs. Frank H. Bird of Giant, California and Charles Kroger of Olympia, Washington, and four great grandchildren (56).

I found an article in the July 21, 1899, Philipsburg Mail, that discussed Howard and Clifford Bowie, Fred Kroger and Rod McRae, fishing on Boulder Lake, north of Granite. The party was successful and caught a lot of trout.

Also, a surprise party was given for Fred, at his sister Dora Hauck’s home, to celebrate his twenty first birthday on January 22, 1900. A number of friends and former classmates attended and after an evening of games refreshments were served. Prizes were awarded to Miss Christine McKenzie, for first place, which was a china cup and saucer and Rod McKenzie won the booby prize which was a rubber ball. Family descendants state Fred built a golf course on the edge of Parkerville, probably where the City Park is now situated. Being an ingenious person he then built a siphon irrigation system to water the grass. The system started at the Kroger Pond and visible evidence is still apparent where the ditch carrying the water was dug along the hillside above the Forest Service Station. Fred Kroger died on February 5, 1965, in California (57).

When the prohibition law went into effect, it impacted the brewery business. The following article was found in the December 6, 1918, Philipsburg Mail: 
Complying with the order made by President Wilson that all breweries in the United States discontinue the use of Barley for making Malt Liquors after December 1, (1918) the local brewery practically closed its doors at Midnight Saturday so far as the manufacturers of the famous Silver Spray is concerned. This order made little material difference with the breweries in Montana for the reason that prohibition goes into effect in thirty days and beer cannot be placed on the market in less time after its manufacture. It is the beginning of the end and it is probable that some of the old timers and some of the young one’s too, are viewing the coming of teetotalism with more or less consternation.
The final toll of the bell for the liquor business was described thusly, by the January 3, 1919, Philipsburg Mail:
Funeral Well Attended--In spite of extremely cold weather the demise and burial services Monday night of the well known old-timer, John Barleycorn, was well attended by a large gathering of sorrowing and despairing friends. The end came without a struggle, although it could not be said to be peaceful for the air was rent at times with shouts of unrestrained joy. Whether the yells were joyful because of the death of their bosom friend or otherwise can best be determined by the individual. By the narrowest of margins a tragic ending for one or more of the celebrants was averted about nine o’clock in the evening when a drunken discharged bartender pulled a gun on another bartender who attempted to quiet the inebriate in one of his wild gyrations. As luck would have it the hand that held the gun was grabbed and held in the air and the gun taken away, but not before one shot was fired through the ceiling and into the office rooms of the Beaver Creek Mining Company, missing one of the occupants by only six inches….
Ruth B. (Smith) Kroger, wife of Henry, died December 12, 1918, from the dreaded flu-pneumonia. She had assisted her ill neighbors with household chores and probably contracted the Spanish Flu in that manner. Born on February 5, 1877 in Stillwater, Minnesota, the family moved to Fort McGinnis, Montana, in 1883. Her mother died there in 1886 and her father, Eugene Smith, brought the family to Philipsburg in 1887. He held the position of Superintendent, of the San Francisco Mine and died in February of 1890. I did not find a headstone for Eugene Smith in the Philipsburg cemetery. Ruth married Henry Kroger in January 1899 and to this marriage was born: Walter, Charles, Eugenia, Marguerite and twins Dorothy and Wilford. Survivors were: her children, step-mother Mrs. Eugene Smith and brother, Dan, all of Philipsburg. After funeral services at the family home on the east side of Philipsburg she was interred in the Philipsburg cemetery, with Rev. Calvert officiating. Pallbearers were: Sebastian Seelos, Florian Winninghoff, Thomas Collins, Edgar P. Ballard, George O. Burks and Otto Rinderknecht. Her brother Eugene T. Smith, died in 1915 and is buried in the Philipsburg cemetery and Dan born in 1872, died in 1926 and is also buried in Philipsburg (58).

There are thirty two Smith’s, buried in the Philipsburg cemetery and to this date the only families I have been able to identify, for certain, are Ruth’s and Harry Smith’s of Rock Creek, but they are not buried in Philipsburg.

Henry Kroger’s daughter, Miss Marguerite married Lawrence Harris, on July 7, 1925, in Butte, with Rev. Z.C. O’Farrell, of the First Baptist Church, officiating. The groom was the son of Mrs. A.W. Coleman of Butte.

Walter Kroger, the long time cashier at the First State Bank, left the position in 1920, when A.P. Bowie took over the job. Then an article in the Mail, in 1925, stated: “A.P. Bowie resigned as cashier, a position he had been working at since 1920 and Kroger resumed the job” (59).

Dorothy died on October 26, 1926, at Murray Hospital in Butte. The date on Dorothy’s headstone states 1927. Research then revealed an article detailing a gunshot wound to the right leg of Wilford Kroger. He was the son of Granite County Treasurer, Henry Kroger, and Dorothy’s twin. Wilford was shot by a companion and the doctor confirmed no bones were broken.

Father, Henry Kroger was a widower, until he married Mrs. Jane Dunn, on April 20, 1935, in Richmond California. His son-in-law and daughter Mr. and Mrs. Frank Bird were the attendants, and Reverend Moore officiated. The new Mrs. Kroger had been residing in Philipsburg for the past two years (60).

The Kroger family again suffered their fair share of grief in 1937, as the New Year was scarcely over when Wilford the youngest son of Henry, was in a mine accident on January 14. While working the night shift at the Headlight Mine, one mile east of Philipsburg: Wilford had just finished drilling a round of holes, and was making preparation for laying plank in the bottom of the drift. It is supposed that while picking down loose rock that his pick struck a missed hole which exploded. He was immediately rushed to Dr. Knight’s hospital where first aid was rendered. Later, he was taken to the Murray Hospital, at Butte where he passed away shortly before noon on the same day.

Wilford, born on July 13, 1910, attended the Philipsburg schools and was survived by his father and step-mother; two sisters: Mrs. Frank H. Bird of California and Mrs. Lawrence Harris of Butte; two brothers: Charles H. of Tacoma, Washington and Walter of Philipsburg and several aunts and uncles. He was buried in the Philipsburg cemetery, near his mother Ruth Smith Kroger. Services were held at the Red Man’s Hall, under the direction of Rev. Alexander Lukens, of the Episcopal Church. Pallbearers were: Rod McRae, Charles Ham, Bernard LeRoy, George McDonald, Norman Sichveland and Maynard Hunt (61).

The next news article, of the year, regarding the Kroger family was headlined “Residents grieved by sudden death” followed with the description of Henry’s death, who at the age of sixty two, died in his sleep about 3:30 am, November 9, 1937. He became ill the night before, while working a graveyard shift in a local mine. He left work, visited his physician and went home to bed.

Henry served as District Forest Ranger, from 1910 to 1917, with headquarters at the Georgetown Ranger Station. An article stated he and two other rangers, Burks and Irvine and Forest Supervisor Rutledge, were setting up meetings with stockmen of the Districts to discuss matters about range and grazing. It was hoped that all the stockmen would attend at least one of the local meetings in Fred Kroger’s Hall in Philipsburg on April 9 or a similar meeting in Hall on April 8, 1914.

Another article that same year stated Henry A. Kroger established a fire lookout station on the summit of Mount Amerine, a lofty peak which commands a view over the timbered area of the upper Rock Creek District. The station would have Forest telephone connection, to enable the guard on fire patrol duty, to report promptly any fires that were started by lightening or otherwise and direct fire fighters to the scene, before the fire got out of control. Fine insulated wire was used for the telephone line going to the look out (62).

Other news articles were discussed in The Philipsburg Story, such as when Henry and his son Charlie, were returning to Georgetown from Philipsburg, in a buckboard and leading Charlie’s horse behind the buckboard. A thunderstorm came up and the horse refused to be lead, so they tied him to a tree and left him. When Henry returned the next day the horse was dead. It had been killed by lightening, when the tree he was tied to was struck.

Henry served two terms as Granite County Treasurer and lost his first wife, Ruth, on December 12, 1918. As stated above his daughter Dorothy died on October 26, 1926, at Murray Hospital in Butte and their son, Wilford was killed in a mine accident in January, 1937. The date on Dorothy’s headstone mistakenly says 1927.

Henry’s second wife, of two years, Jane and the following children (from his first marriage) survived him: Walter of Philipsburg, Charles of Tacoma, Mrs. Marguerite Harris of Butte and Mrs. Frank Bird of Giant, California. He was also survived by his sister Dora Hauck now living in Milwaukie, Wisconsin; and brothers Walter of Los Angeles and Fred of Pomona, California. The funeral was held November 11, 1937 at St. Andrew’s Episcopal Church and pallbearers were: J.D. Kennedy, E.T. Irvine, John Hickey, Harry Hanifen, and Oscar Bayne (63).

The next mention of the Kroger family, was the announcement of the death of Charles, age thirty two, who died in Tacoma, Washington on October 29, 1938 and was buried in Tacoma. Survivors were: son Henry A. and daughter Ruth, brother, Walter and Aunt Dora Hauck.

Walter W. Kroger died eight days after the death of his brother, (Fred) at the age of ninety one, from a heart attack in Pomona, California. He was the last of the pioneer Charles and Anna Kroger family. Born in Beartown, on July 11, 1873, he graduated from The College of Deer Lodge, the first institution of higher learning in Montana. He was listed as one of the many Philipsburg men who volunteered to serve in the Spanish American War. Walt was an active citizen, verified by the documentation in 1900, when he returned from Missoula, after he served as a delegate to the annual convention of the Woodmen of the World. Walter led a varied and interesting life, engaging in mining, owning and operating an assay office and serving on the School Board in Philipsburg. He was a Republican member of the Montana Legislature in 1907, representing Granite County. He won by a plurality of 177 votes over W.E. Moore, Wingfield L. Brown and Louis P. Kelly, on November 6, 1906 and served through 1908 He also served as Treasurer of Granite County for two terms 1902-1906, beating Val Jacky and Thomas E. Carey by a plurality of 328 votes on November 4, 1904. Walt was a life member of Eastern star, The White Shrine, and on July 6, 1962, was given his fifty year Masonic pin, at the request of the Grand Lodge of Montana. In addition, he was a fifty year member of Algeria temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine and a 32 degree Mason. He was a long-time member of the Episcopal Choir. Walt was one of the founders of the First State Bank of Philipsburg, where he served as cashier and vice-president from at least 1913 to 1920 and 1925 to 1928 and was also involved in the Security Bank and Trust Company of Olympia, Washington. After that he moved to Los Angeles where he was an executive of the Maywood California Dried Foods Products Company. This company was the pioneer of dried eggs which is widely used in cake mixes. After he retired and his wife Sarah (Tracy) died, Walter moved to Pomona, California to be close to his brother Fred and family. Survivors were: two nephews and five nieces and many grand nephews and nieces. After memorial services held in Pomona at the Todd Memorial Chapel on February 16, his cremated remains were interred beside his wife in Oakwood cemetery, Sturgis, Michigan (64).

An employee of the brewery has a headstone in the Philipsburg cemetery with the statement Aged 50 yrs, 9 mo. 28 days”
Blum, George M. Killed in a runaway at Philipsburg, Montana, June 5, 1903 A native of Koenbringrn Boden, Germany
The story describing his death in the June 12, 1903, Mail follows:
George and John Hopp of the Crystal Saloon were out driving a spirited horse. They stopped to call on friends at Tower and were returning down the steep grade, when the horse ran away with the buggy, which resulted in the buggy overturning and the occupants being thrown out and down the side of the grade, encountering many rocks. Assistance arrived shortly after the accident and found both men unconscious. It was thought that Mr. Hopp had the serious injuries due to a large cut on the head and bruises and a sprain of the ankle. But shortly after the men regained consciousness, it was realized that Mr. Blum was suffering from internal injuries and Dr. Powers, was called to the scene. Dr. Cunningham ( a Dentist), was also in attendance, before the evening wore on and all was done at the injured man’s home that was possible, but he continued to decline and was dead shortly after midnight.
He had a wife and children in Sandy, Utah, but had not lived with them for a number of years, although he always provided support to them. The family when notified said he should be buried in Philipsburg. A brother came to Philipsburg and asked that he be buried by his Lodge No. 12, The Sons of Herman. His occupation was as a brewer of which he understood his business thoroughly, and practiced his trade at the Kroger brewery. Survivors were: a wealthy brewer brother in Galena, Illinois and another brother in California. The Son’s of Herman were in charge of the burial services, with internment in the Philipsburg cemetery. A $500.00 insurance policy from the Lodge was sent immediately to his wife, in Utah. The Pallbearers were: Peter Perrant, H.A. Kroger, George Marx, C.J. Mees, Charles Bagley and Albert Rupp.

The Kroger family is also discussed earlier on this blog-site.


The Prohibition Act caused bootlegging to flourish and I found articles in 1921 and 1922, where Sheriff Fred C. Burks, was busy raiding the stills. He was assisted by Under Sheriff Sam Clark, Deputy E.J. Muchmore and Chief of Police Robert McDonel. Articles, in the Philipsburg Mail, stated Pat O’Donnell, Hugh Cunningham, Tim Sullivan and Charles Barr, were charged with transporting liquor after being arrested on April 24 about 4 miles south of Philipsburg, driving a seven passenger Jeffries Auto, with thirty gallons of moonshine. The account stated prior to the arrest the men were stuck on Georgetown flats and got a man out of bed to pull them out, then refused to pay him for his trouble.

In the same news article Deputy Muchmore arrested Evan Domitrovich and Edward Lingenfelter outside of Drummond, driving a horse and buggy, with two gallons of moonshine in a grip. They had tried to sell the booze to at least two different persons in town and were on their way to Hall to try to sell the liquor made at a still at Gold Creek, in Powell County.

Also at this same time, a well known cattle buyer, Louis Klandreth (Dutch Louie) was arrested, in Drummond, with a gallon of moonshine and was released on bond with the charge of transporting liquor. At least 400 gallons of moonshine had been dumped in the sewer in the prior three months, some as high as 140 proof, according to Sheriff Burks (65).

Then, in December 1922,
…three stills, several gallons of whiskey and a large quantity of corn, sugar, and corn meal were confiscated. One alleged moonshiner and one alleged bootlegger were placed in jail and warrants were issued for two other men. Two stills of eighty gallons and sixty gallon capacity were found going full blast in a cabin near Tower, about a mile northeast of Philipsburg, Tuesday afternoon. Five gallons of the finished product was confiscated and twenty four barrels of mash or about 1,200 gallons, destroyed. The operators of the two stills saw the officers coming and ran up the hill through the trees like a pair of frightened jack rabbits and got away, but warrants have been issued for their arrest. According to Sheriff Burks, the roar of the blast furnaces could be heard long before they got to the location of the stills. Both stills were operated by gas burners and pressure tanks. Four burners furnished heat for the eighty gallon still and two for the smaller still. Moonshine whiskey was running from the coils at a rate of five gallons an hour…The officers raided a place four miles west of the city Tuesday and confiscated a twenty gallon still and a small quantity of mash. This still was not in operation. Christmas night the place known as “the bath house” was raided and the officers confiscated half a case of beer and a keg half full of liquor and placed the proprietors in jail pending the furnishing of a $1,000 bond (66).
 Of interest is the fact, none of the alleged moonshiners and bootleggers were named. It was almost a year later, the cases came to trial, in Judge George D. Winston’s court. In the jury trial of Harry Sudemeyer, he was charge with manufacturing intoxicating liquor and his punishment was a fine of $250.00 and sixty days in the county jail. The jurors were: W.G. Reynolds, Merritt Robey, W.A. Griffith, Wm. Hoehne, Francis Wight, John Loughrin, Joseph Piche, Frank Howell, Earnest Maehl, Maurice Weaver, W.F. Bentz, and Frank Bazinet. Polling the jury revealed that four answered not guilty: M.Robey, F. Wight, W. Hoehne, and J. Loughrin. Next was the case of Julius Mazza, tried by jury for unlawfully manufacturing intoxicating liquor. He was also found guilty with a fine of $250.00 and thirty days in county jail. This jury was composed of: Francis Wight, W.G. Reynolds, Frank Howell, Ernest Maehl, W.F. Bentz, Lloyd Allen, Rasmus C. Jensen, Frank Bazinet, John Loughrin, Fred C. Wisner, Wm. H. Fisher, and Peter Valiton. The jurors were not polled.

 The next jury trial was the State vs. Angus McDonald. His charge was also unlawfully manufacturing intoxicating liquor. The following jurors returned a verdict of not guilty: Fred Cyr, Maurice Weaver, George P. Nelson, W.F. Bentz, Ernest Maehl (Angus’ grandfather), Freeman A. Taylor, Joseph McDougal, Vern A. Carnegie, Julius Swanson, James Mellen, W.A. Griffith and W.E. Metcalf. A poll of this group disclosed that two felt him to be guilty: Swanson and Griffith (67).

The law was still busy confiscating stills early in 1923:

 A new cabin, with spring water piped into the building, located on the Hagg ranch on lower Willow creek, was the setting for a thirty gallon still that was confiscated by Deputy Sheriff E.J. Muchmore, last Monday. Jack Healey and Louis Klandreth were arrested and brought to Philipsburg to await a hearing, as it is believed they were the operators of the distilling plant. According to Sheriff Burks, Klandreth was in the cabin when the deputy was approaching the still house and when he saw the deputy coming he made a run for the tall timber, but Muchmore, got him after a short chase. Healey tried to get to the cabin to warn Klandreth but arrived too late (68).


The Hauck name, mentioned in a previous paragraph, when Dora Kroger wed Lawrence Hauck, made significant contributions to Granite County. Lawrence Hauck, born December 22, 1867 in Germany, had his obituary written in scroll and the city’s name looks to be Schweinfurt. His wife’s obituary stated she met him in 1883 at the Golden Spike ceremony, at Gold Creek and that may be the year he came to Montana. The first mention I found of the Hauck name was the following article in 1890:

When Lawrence Hauck awoke last Friday morning from a peaceful slumber he was the most astonished man in town when he discovered that his time-piece, valued at $100, was missing, and further investigation being made he also found that $110 in cash and some certificates of deposit were likewise, missing, together with Julius Spitznagel, the Western Union operator, who had been employed in that office here for the past four months, and who had slept with Lawrence Hauck that night. Being a near neighbor to Shodair’s store, where Hauck is employed, the two had become quite friendly. As soon as Hauck discovered his loss he notified the officers, and there being no doubt but that Spitznagel was the guilty party, Deputy Sheriff’s Barnes and O’ Brian proceeded to round him up and about five o’clock that evening Mr. Barnes found his man in Drummond and soon had him under arrest. When the officer approached the fleet-footed operator, the latter made an attempt to draw his gun, but was overpowered before he could get the drop on the officer. The fugitive was brought to Philipsburg the next day and a preliminary hearing was had before Judge Bateman, where he pleaded guilty to the charge of grand larceny and was bound over to the grand jury. All the stolen property was found on his person and returned to the rightful owner. It was the general belief that the prisoner was not of sound mind, as his actions demonstrated. When he left with his stolen boodle Friday morning he walked as far as Stone Station; from there he rode to New Chicago, where he remained until noon, and then boarded the train back to Philipsburg supposing it to be the one bound for Butte. When he found out his mistake he got off and walked back to Drummond. The family said he had been in the insane asylum two years ago. He was tried for insanity and sent to the asylum instead of prison (69).
As stated in a previous paragraph Lawrence married Dora Kroger, on August 24, 1893. It was a notable social event that was the high spot of a very depressed year in Granite County, during the silver crash. Lawrence at the time of his marriage was working for Freyschlag, Huffman & Co. as the book-keeper, and I have been unable to determine if he continued working for them when the establishment was bought at sheriff sale by J.M. Merrell and re-opened under the management of Frank Durand. This event is described in Chapter I, in detail.

Research revealed the Philipsburg Mail, changed ownership sometime around June of 1898, as that is when the publication changed its consumer information to “Owners: Bryan Bros. & Hauck” and in 1902, “Hauck became the sole proprietor”. In 1898, Lawrence served as Treasurer for the city of Philipsburg, and also, in 1898, Lawrence was sworn in as an officer of the Hope Chapter 10, R.A.M. along with A.S. and C.T. Huffman, Dr W.I. Power and E.R. Thompson. Then by 1900, he was chairman of the Silver Republican County Central Committee, as evidenced by this notice:
To the Silver Republicans of Granite County-It having come to the knowledge of the Silver Republican County Central Committee that attempts will be made by certain Democratic politicians to issue calls and make public announcements purporting to be authorized by the Silver Republican Committee, all Silver Republicans of Granite County are hereby advised to pay no attention whatever to any such announcements that are published in the Citizens Call, the Democratic organ of this county. By order of the Silver Republican County Central Committee, Lawrence Hauck, Chairman (70).
Sometime prior to 1901, Lawrence Hauck became the postmaster for Philipsburg, Montana, and “A daughter was born Tuesday morning at 11:30 o’clock to the wife of Postmaster Hauck. The mother and child are getting along nicely”. Her name was Catherine and she was their second child. While employed as Postmaster, I do not know how much editorial work was performed by Hauck, at the Philipsburg Mail. 

A man of strong character, in 1907, Lawrence took on the County Commissioners as described by the following quote:
In the District Court yesterday Judge Winston handed down a written opinion in the case of Lawrence Hauck vs. the Board of County Commissioners, over ruling the demurrer of the defendants. They were given five days in which to answer. On the 15 of February this case was argued in Anaconda upon a demurrer filed by County Attorney Durfee to the effect that injunction was not the proper remedy. The court took the matter under advisement and the decision was rendered yesterday. The controversy is over the county printing. The old board of commissioners, Duffy, Rupp, and Henderson, at their regular session in December, awarded the contract for the county printing for the years 1907 and 1908 to the Philipsburg Mail whose bid was about fifty percent lower than the other bid received.

Sometime later, Attorney General Galen gave out an opinion, which was published and stated it was contrary to public policy, for outgoing boards of county commissioners, to award contracts extending beyond their terms of office. Acting upon this and the advice of County Attorney D.M. Durfee, the new board of county commissioners, Duffy, Fairbairn, and Woodlock, called a special meeting for the purpose of considering bids, for the county printing for the years 1907 and 1908. On the day of this special meeting, January 15, 1907, Lawrence Hauck, proprietor of the Philipsburg Mail, had a restraining order served upon the commissioners and this has since been in force. Unless County Attorney Durfee, stands on the demurrer and takes an appeal to the Supreme Court the case would be heard, upon its merits in the near future.
 I found no further statements about this case, so they must have settled to Hauck's approval. In the same issue of the Mail, Lawrence Hauck announced there would be a reduction in post office box rent, on April 1. The price would be: call boxes twenty cents per quarter; small lock boxes thirty five cents per quarter; medium lock boxes forty five cents per quarter; and large lock boxes sixty cents per quarter.

Lawrence’s daughter, Elsie Hauck was visiting a girl friend at the Stephens Hotel, when an accident befell her. The girls were sliding down the banister and she lost her balance falling about ten feet and landing on her face. She was unconscious for a short time and was attended by Dr. Casey. No bones were broken but her face was badly bruised (72).

 In the four boys and eight girls graduating in the class of 1921, from Granite County High School was Elsie C. Hauck, then the sad news in 1928 that she had died of meningitis. Elsie, born in Philipsburg on August 13, 1902, graduated from high school, then attended University of Montana and graduated with the class of 1926. She was employed, at the time of her death, as a member of the Granite County High School faculty, teaching Chemistry, General Science and Home Economics. She was a member of St. Andrews Episcopal Church; Sigma Chi chapter of Kappa Delta National Sorority and Pearl Chapter No. 14, Order of Eastern Star of Philipsburg. Survivors were: her mother Dora C. (Kroger) Hauck; brothers: Herman L. of Philipsburg and John C. a student at the University of Montana (Missoula); sisters: Mrs. John B. Taylor of Butte and Miss Dora M. Hauck, a school teacher, at Nez Perce, Idaho; Uncles: Walter W. Kroger (vice president and cashier of First State Bank); Henry A. Kroger (Granite County Treasurer), and Fred W. Kroger of Pomona, California; Aunts: Mrs. Bertha McSpadden of Missoula and Mrs. Lizzie Shatzer of White Bird, Idaho; Great Aunt: Mrs. Dora Lehsou of Missoula; Nieces: Lois Jean and Marian Hauck. Interment was in the family plot after services held at the family residence. Graveside services were performed by the O.E.S. Pearl Chapter, with Pallbearers: Dewey M. Price, Robert E. Perey, W. William Kroger, W.W. Penington, Edwin T. Irvine and Lawrence Landreth (73).

As noted in the survivors, above, Lawrence was no longer with the family. I speak with great regret that the Philipsburg Mail, wrote a very sparse obituary for their proprietor on his death, February 18, 1923. I guess they thought he would be honored with a black outlined box and a scripted name, birth and death date and where each occurred. Sadly, they failed to pay tribute to his deeds for the future generations to research. The two short columns written under the black box spoke of the scriptures read and the songs sung at his service: The service took place from the family residence yesterday afternoon. The family pastor, Rev. W.J. Attwood officiated using the full Episcopal service and took his text from Psalm 90:12,

Pallbearers at the Philipsburg cemetery were: Mayor S.E. McClees, A.S. Huffman, Vatis Page, John Hickey, Ludwig Mussigbrod, A.P. Bowie, P.C. Valiton and H.A. Featherman. Honorary pallbearers were: Judge H.T. Cummings of Drummond; Thomas Hickey, Gust Johnson, and Valentine Jacky of Missoula; J.E. Meyers of Drummond; H.E. Barnhill of Hall; and Fred Tallon of Jens.

Fortunately, grand daughter Jean Hauck Fullerton was able to provide a typed copy identified as Lawrence Hauck's obituary with the following information. He had been ill for about one week. His constitution, weakened by severe attacks of stomach trouble, was further impaired by the labors and responsibilities in carrying on his duties as President of the First State Bank during the recent period of depression in this community" (75).

Lawrence was the son of John and Lena Hauck and came to America at the age of 16. He lived in Deer Lodge from 1893, working on ranches during the summer and attending Montana College during the school year. He moved to Philipsburg in 1889 and worked at Shodair's Green Grocery for one year then worked for 3 years in Virginia City for S.R. Buford & Co. Returning to Philipsburg, Lawrence then became employed by Freyschlag, Huffman & Co. Two years later he was employed in a clerical position with First National Bank. In 1898 he purchased an interest in the Philipsburg Mail, and as described in other sections of this book, after a short time bought out his partners. Lawrence served as Postmaster of Philipsburg from 1899 for 18 consecutive years and resigned the position due to increased pressures from his other business responsibilities.

A.H. Neal, after being picked from a field of four, was recommended to President Harding, to fill the Postmaster position Lawrence left vacant, according to the associated press in Anaconda.

The Hauck family document also stated Lawrence was chairman of the Granite County Republican party for twelve years. He was Philipsburg City Treasurer in 1899; member of the Masonic Fraternity: Flint Creek Lodge No. 10 and the Order of Eastern Star. Also a member of the Sons of Herman and the Knights of Pythias. As if this was not enough activity, Lawrence was president of McLees Jewelry and a partner in the Philipsburg Hardware Company. Survivors were: wife Dora, children: Herman, the current business manager of the Philipsburg Mail, Catherine, Elsie and Dora attending the University of Montana, at Missoula and John a student in the Philipsburg Public School.

The family was of the Episcopal faith and according to Family history, both Kroger and Hauck's were instrumental in establishing St. Andrews' Episcopal Church.

Herman Hauck, son of Dora and Lawrence and a veteran of World War I took over the Philipsburg Mail, after the death of his father. During the depression he was unable to meet payroll. The issue was taken to court by Roy Neitz, the manager of the Drummond branch of the Philipsburg Mail. The final outcome was the paper became the property of Neitz. Research revealed the July 18, 1930 Philipsburg Mail article stating:
With the latest issue of the Philipsburg Mail , Herman L. Hauck who has been in charge for many years retired as manager and this authority with this issue is delegated to Roy A. Neitz, who has been foreman for the past six years. Patrons of the “Philipsburg Mail” are requested, in order to receive proper credit on their accounts due to make payments at the Philipsburg Mail Office and all persons having accounts against it are requested to present them before July 31, 1930. 

Herman then worked as a miner and went to work after Wilford Kroger’s accident, in the same mine he was killed in. He later was employed with the State Highway Department. Herman died in February of 1956, with his funeral conducted from the Masonic Temple, with Masonic Rites. Rev. Robert C. Rusack, from the Episcopal Church, of Deer Lodge officiated. Survivors were his wife Irene, son and daughter Herman Lawrence and Helen all at the family home; mother, Mrs. Dora C. Hauck, of Butte; daughters: Mrs. H.H. ( Jean) Fullerton of Butte; Mrs. Joseph (Marian) Finkel of Bozeman; and Mrs. Cato (Dora) Butler, of Helena ; sisters: Mrs. John B. Taylor, of Missoula; Miss Dora M. Hauck, of Vancouver, Washington; and brother John C. Hauck, of Butte; Uncles: Fred and Walter Kroger of Pomona, California; five grandchildren and numerous nieces and nephews. Pallbearers were: Adolph Andre, Roy Greenheck, Joe Kearns, Ray Danielson, Dr. L.R. Nesbit, all of Philipsburg and Earl Dahlberg of Drummond. He was interred in the family plot at the Philipsburg cemetery.

The year 1957, saw the passing of the matriarch of the Hauck family. Dora C. died at the age of eighty five, at St. James Hospital, in Butte, following a long illness. Born September 11, 1871, at Beartown, Montana to Charles and Anna (Rusch) Kroger, she married Lawrence on August 24, 1893. Her obituary went on to state he was a longtime western Montana publisher and banker who at the time of his death was president of the First State Bank in Philipsburg and for many years published the Drummond News and The Philipsburg Mail. Dora's obituary also stated Lawrence owned the Daily Missoulian. Family documents contain a newspaper article stating: The Missoulian, after a struggle off eight months, sells to the Fruitgrower Publishing Company. An important deal in Missoula newspaperdom, which has been going on for some time, was closed this forenoon whereby the Fruitgrower Publishing Company became the sole owner of the Missoulian, heretofore operated by Bryan Bros., Wilcox and Hauck and later by Bryan, Wilcox and Hauck. The family believes this was prior to Hauck buying into the Philipsburg Mail, in 1898. The article also stated that previously published as a weekly, The Missoulian, would now be published as a morning republican paper (79).

Until her hospitalization Dora, made her home with son John Hauck in Butte. She was a member of the Episcopal Church, where she served as president and treasurer of the Church Guild. She was also, a member of the Eastern Star, where she served as Worthy Matron, in 1902. Survivors were: Son: John of Butte; daughters: Mrs. John B. Taylor of Missoula, Dora M. Hauck of Vancouver, Washington, and daughter-in-law Mrs. Irene Hauck of Philipsburg; Brothers: Walter and Fred Kroger of Pomona, California; twelve grandchildren and nine great grandchildren and many nieces and nephews. Children, Elsie and Herman and spouse Lawrence preceded her in death.

The funeral services were conducted at the Masonic Temple under the Order of Eastern Star, Pearl Chapter No. 14 with Rev. Robert C. Rusack, Episcopal Pastor officiated. Pallbearers were: R.J. Huffman, Dean A. Neitz, Joseph A. Kearns, J.W. Winninghoff, John W. McDonald Jr. and J. Walter Kroger, with interment in the family plot in the Philipsburg cemetery (80).

Most notable, was the lack of either Dora or Lawrence’s obituary saying anything about their stately home. The house built of brick, was erected after Lawrence and Dora bought the property from The Philipsburg Real Estate and Water Company, owned by Dora’s brother, W.W. Kroger, in 1917. The Philipsburg Territory, in 2007, stated the home was later owned by Robert Metcalf, 1930 to 1940; L.B. Manning, from 1940 to 1957; Roy McLeod, from 1957 to 1961 and then three different county attorneys. The last attorney was former county attorney Allen Bradshaw.  As of 2016 it is owned and operated by the Steve Immenschuh family as a bed and breakfast.

Many people assume Earnest Maehl built the Hauck Home, but the neither family nor Maehl descendants are able to confirm this.

Herman and Irene’s children were: Lois Jean, Marian (Mano), Dora, Herman (Lornie) and Helen. Family history researched or experienced since the 2009 publication of the First Edition is as follows: Dora married Cato Butler on September 5, 1950 and Marian married Joseph M. Finkel on February 7, 1954 at St. Andrew’s Catholic Church. I do not know the exact date that Jean married Howie Fullerton. Marian born November 2, 1928 died of a brain tumor on August 4, 2008 in Spokane, Washington; Helen’s husband Donald Shanklin died in Woodburn, Oregon at the age of 70 in 2006; Lornie born January 1, 1935 worked at the State Highway department and then on the Alaska pipeline. He died of cancer on October 9, 2011. Memorial services were held at the Granite County Museum during the Flint Creek Valley days in July 2012. Dora’s husband Cato Butler died in Helena at the age of 84 on June 12, 2014 after a long career in broadcasting; The oldest child Jean Hauck Fullerton born November 4, 1924 died November 16, 2014, in Missoula. She had a long career working for the telephone company and finally retired in 1989. She was survived by sons Jack and Tom. Preceding her in death was infant son Robert and her husband Howie. She is buried in the family plot in Philipsburg.


With the reference of the McLeod family in the previous paragraph, this is a good time to discuss that family. Because R. R. McLeod was also a rancher near Philipsburg, he will be discussed in Book II. The first reference I found of the McLeod family was an advertisement, in 1894 for:

 Boots and Shoes--It don’t matter about hard times if you want anything in the footwear line. I will sell it so low you will forget about the hard times when you are buying, and wonder how I can do it. Try me and see. I have a few pairs of men and boys gloves that I will almost give away….very truly J.C. McLeod (81)
 The next reference is in the delinquent taxes published for the year 1895, which lists Neil McLeod, as owing $2.65 on a house on lot 297 on Granite Company ground in Granite. Then, speaking of a new departure in advertising, being effective if measured by the large crowds that gathered, the December 12, 1896, Mail, discussed J.C. McLeod and C.H. Barnett, entertaining the public from two to five p.m. with music in front of their businesses. The music was furnished by the Philipsburg Silver Coronet Band.

Next a notice in the March 14, 1897, Philipsburg Mail, stated “J.C. McLeod announces in his advertisement in this issue his intentions of selling for cash only”, and in the same issue of the paper was this notice: “All persons indebted to the firm of C.H. Barnett & Co. will please settle with J.C. McLeod within the next thirty days. All accounts outstanding at the end of that time will be placed in the hands of Attorney for collection".

In 1901, the black smith shop at J.C. McLeod’s mine above Stumptown was totally destroyed by fire on the afternoon of July 9. Some tools and supplies and six rubber miners suits were burned. About fifteen pounds of powder in the shop exploded. All the men were in the mine at the time and no one was injured. Mr. McLeod estimated the loss at about $200.

Miss Florence McLeod and John H. Burns, were married at the home of the bride‘s mother, Mrs. Jesse McLeod, on Belle Avenue, in Granite, on April 27, 1904. Rev. J.B. Butter, pastor of the Presbyterian Church, performed the ceremony. The attendants were the bride's sister, Miss Lottie McLeod and George McKenzie. Mr. Burns, had for several years been in the grocery business in Granite, but during the summer the newly weds expected to move to Wolf Creek where Mr. Burns had arranged the purchase of a large mercantile establishment (82).

Dan A. McLeod, after losing his run for Sheriff of Granite County, in 1910 was chosen for Assistant-sergeant-at-arms in the House of Representatives at Helena. Mr. McLeod went to Helena with the other democratic statesmen from Granite County and experienced no difficulty in landing a job. The very close vote for sheriff had been 440 for Frank Morse and 439 for D.A. McLeod.

A few months later, was the notice of death for J.C. McLeod, who had been a prominent merchant in Philipsburg. J.C. died April 24, 1911, at Rochester, Minn., after going there for medical care. Born in 1859 (his headstone says 1860), at Calais, Maine, to Mr. and Mrs. John McLeod, he was in business, from a young age. Survivors were: his wife Carrie E., son Ralph, and three daughter (names not listed in the obituary) and father John. Carrie went to Rochester and accompanied the body home. J.C. was buried in the Philipsburg cemetery, after a funeral service on April 30. Pallbearers were: C.T. Huffman, A. Johnston, F.E. Barnes, W.W. Nebethal, Robert McDonel and J.P. Sullivan. Although a former member of the Elks, Masons and Knights of Pythias, he had dropped his membership in all the organizations before his death (83)

In the 1912, election for Granite County Sheriff, Dan A. McLeod, won the election with 353 votes against Frank D. Morse with 211 votes, Sam Clark with 318 votes and Dominick Vironda with fifty votes. Dan was re-elected as sheriff in 1914, when he received 580 votes and his opponent Samuel B. Clark received 368, according to the November 15, 1912 and November 13, 1914, Philipsburg Mails.

John McLeod, father of J.C. died January 4, 1916. Born in New Brunswick, he immigrated to Calais, Maine, then after the death of his wife (no date given), he came west with his son J.C., and engaged in mining. He had been quite successful and acquired considerable property, including ranch and town property. Survivors were: four grandchildren (names not listed), daughter-in-law (Carrie) and a sister in Maine. The funeral took place from the Mrs. J.C. McLeod home, with Rev. W.H. Calvert, of the Methodist Church officiating. Pallbearers were: S.B. Clark, D.A. McLeod, H.C. True, A. Johnston, W.W. Kroger and O.C. Mersereau, with internment in the Philipsburg cemetery, Block 15, next to his son J.C. Daughter-in-law, Carrie, born in 1868, died in 1940 and was buried next to J.C (84).

Headlines cover the front page of the Philipsburg Mail, when D.A. McLeod, died at his home on February 26, 1917, after being ill with kidney trouble for several months. He spent several months in Rochester, at the Mayo Brothers Clinic and returned home for the holidays in an improved condition, but began a steady decline that he accepted bravely and remained cheerful to the end.

A native of Strathalbyn, Prince Edward Island, of Scottish parentage, he was fifty six years of age and had engaged in business for several years with the late James W. Sundberg. The obituary discussed his election in 1912 for Granite County Sheriff, as a democrat and re-election in 1914 with a plurality of 200 votes, then went on to state that he did not run for any office the last election.

Mr. McLeod was an active Elk and Mason holding membership both in Missoula and Drummond. Besides his wife, he had a son and daughter of a former marriage that had not kept in touch and were not notified of his death. The daughter was married and believed living in Nevada and the son was located somewhere in Utah. The Masonic service was performed on February 28 at the Masonic temple, with both Drummond and Philipsburg Mason’s assisting. A large group of Elk’s, including Charles Johnson, secretary of Hellgate Lodge B.P.O.E. and Hon. W.E. Moore, were present. Rev. E.L. Moore, of the Presbyterian Church, assisted with the prayers. At the internment in the Philipsburg Cemetery the pallbearers were: W.W. Kroger, O.C. Mesereau, and C.T. Huffman representing the Masons; A. K. Leischman, A.H. Walker and Paul Neal, representing the Elks. A special train took the Elks and Masons back to Drummond and Missoula after the funeral service. 

Catherine McLeod, age seventy one, died from injuries received from a hit and run accident, several weeks before her death, in Seattle. She was buried in Seattle during the week of February 17, 1931, according to the February 23, 1931, Philipsburg Mail.


Through out the town’s history there were frequent fires especially in the mines, but I will describe only major ones, such as when the Depot burned, with headlines:

 Depot is burned...fire at early hour this morning destroys entire structure…Firemen do efficient work The Northern Pacific Depot, express office and large freight warehouse in the city were totally destroyed by fire at an early hour this morning, the entire building with contents of the freight house, coal shed and surrounding platforms burned to the ground. A train of cars, including passenger coach and baggage car, standing on the tracks in front of the depot were moved down the track beyond the reach of the flames and most of the personal property and household goods of Agent H.O. Flickinger and family, who occupied apartments in the building, were carried out and saved as were the office records and furniture including the big safe and express matter on hand. The loss, roughly estimated, will probably exceed $10,000.00. The fire was discovered by Chief of Police T.J. Gorman between 3 and 4 am when he made a tour through the residential section of the city on the north side to round up some stray stock. Seeing a bright light he rode down to observe and seeing the fire woke up Agent Flickinger and then rode up town firing his revolver and rang the fire bell. The fire occurred during a heavy snow storm so neighboring buildings were safe because of the snow on their roofs. The fire was believed to be incendiary in origin. Some of the gasoline barrels were moved away from the blaze, but at least six exploded into huge balls of flame when they were deemed too close to the building to be moved. Fortunately there was no wind so the firemen had no difficulty containing the blaze to the depot.

 The Northern Pacific Railroad was built from Drummond to Philipsburg in 1887. The new train took the place of a Concord Stage Coach originally owned by a man named Taylor and then was bought and ran by Wm. Hammond and James McDonel. Stages were also operated by the Hammond Company from Philipsburg to Anaconda and Philipsburg to Granite. Hammonds are discussed in Chapter I. By 1920, automobiles had taken over the stage routes that were used where there were no trains. Schedules showed William Bellm, Proprietor of the Philipsburg-Anaconda Stage was leaving Philipsburg at 1:30 and arriving in Anaconda at 3:30 then leaving Anaconda at 6:10pm and arriving in Philipsburg around 8pm (87).

On February 19,1922, the City Bakery, owned by Robert Alexander, caught on fire and burned the building interior as well as threatened adjoining properties. The alarm was sounded at 11:40 and at that time the bake room was a mass of flames. The firemen were at the scene in less than five minutes, with a hose on the fire and shortly after a second and third hose were set up. The fire was though to have started in the chimney. The property was recently purchased by Robert Alexander from Frank Krieg and was partially covered by insurance. He stated the building would be repaired. This was the same bakery that had been operated by Albert Neitz prior to his death.

In the same week as the above fire, on February 23, 1922, the Harry Herron home had an attic fire from an overheated chimney. Heck Winninghoff saw the fire on his way home about 11:30 and went up to the house and notified Mrs. Herron, “who was in the house reading and was unaware that the building was on fire”. While the firemen were cutting holes in the roof and putting water on the fire, neighbors were able to remove the household furnishings. The fire caused about $800 damage. The property was owned by Mrs. K.E. Hannah, of the upper valley who was a sister of Mrs. Herron.

Another major fire occurred when the Silver Lake House, burned to the ground on September 25, 1928. This fire was also considered to be of incendiary origin and occurred about 4 am. The building was completely engulfed in flame when discovered.

Three lines of fire hose were laid and every effort was made to save adjoining property. The building located on the corner of Broadway and Montgomery Street, is said to have been built in 1878 and was the scene of many important meetings in the early days. At the time of the Nez Perce Indian scare the women and children of the community gathered there for protection. At the time of the fire the building was not occupied but was completely furnished for hotel purposes. The building was owned by Ike Sanders of Rock Creek and was partially covered by insurance. J.J. Carmichaels undertaking parlors, located next to the burned building, were damaged by water and the stock of caskets and undertaking supplies were somewhat damaged before they could be removed from the building. Nearly all the windows on the north side of Arthur Taylor’s place were cracked by the heat. Streams of water kept the roof and the east side of the building from burning. The Moorlight building was also endangered and most of the windows on the west side were cracked by the heat.
 A picture in the book Views of Philipsburg, Granite and Vicinity, by Weiftle, shows the Silver Lake House with a Pharmacy whose name was unreadable, located in the front downstairs. Weiftle is discussed in the Patriots chapter at the end of this book (89).


As described above, fires were a frequent happening anytime people set up a town and Philipsburg credits Alex Ringling as the “Daddy of the Philipsburg Fire Brigade”. Alex organized the Fire Brigade in 1896 and was the brother of N.B. Ringling an early politician.

Alex Ringling lost his wife Josephine on October 28, 1925. She died at her home on the east side of Philipsburg of pneumonia. Josephine was a very out-doors person, and caught cold while fishing at Georgetown Lake a week prior. She had served as a deputy State Fish and Game Warden of the Philipsburg District for a number of years up to the time of her death.

Born in Southington, Connecticut on March 18, 1861, she moved to Philipsburg in 1891 and married Alex in 1892. They made their home in Philipsburg for all that time, except nine years spent in Oregon, mining. Josephine was survived by her husband and a nephew Harold Newton of Connecticut. She was buried in Butte in the Mt. Moriah Cemetery on Wednesday, October 28 (90).

In 1899, the annual election of officers for the Philipsburg Fire Brigade took place at the Fireman’s Hall. Elected were: President M.H. Bryan; Vice president William Bowen; Secretary Thomas H. Orr; treasurer A.A. Fairbairn; Chief A.B. Ringling; Asst. Chief Geo. Winninghoff; Foreman hose cart No.1 Dan Smith; Foreman hose cart No.2 Walter Stone; Foreman hook and ladder, T.J. Crowley; and Trustees: E.A. Beley, H.M. Small and S.A. Brown.

In 1914, six new firemen were initiated. The May 29, 1914, Philipsburg Mail goes into great detail as to what the new recruits had to accomplish, both in public view and a “series of endurance tests not given in public”. After the initiation a banquet and smoker at the Firemen’s Club rooms followed, and there were some interesting tales related while the prime roast pig and other delicacies disappeared as if by magic. The new members were: young Frank Winninghoff, Edwin Irvine, Rod Huffman, Emmett, Carey, Gus Lindstadt and Harry Parfitt Jr.

In the year 1927, the Fire Brigade drew up articles of incorporation for the Fire Brigade Relief Association and the Philipsburg Fire Brigade. A committee of five was appointed to write resolutions and bylaws. Then during the next year, Alex while working for the Jefferson Mining Company became ill. After seeking medical treatment returned home and died at the Yenter Hospital, on October 8, 1928. The funeral was held in Butte and he was buried in the family plot in the Butte cemetery. Survivors were: his brother N.B. Ringling of Philipsburg (91).

Continuing the tradition, of prominent business men filling the offices and providing the laborious duties of firemen, the election of officers in 1938, included the following persons: Otto Rinderknecht as president; Lawrence Naef vice president; Elmer Holm treasurer; Glenn Reed secretary; Herman L. Hauck fire chief; H.B. Kaiser asst. Fire chief; With trustees as: W.J. Winninghoff, Carroll M. Huffman, H.B. Kaiser, E.R. Winninghoff and Edward C. Neu, according to the December 16, 1938, Philipsburg Mail .


When one drives around Philipsburg these days, the historical businesses and buildings that have survived are mainly built of brick. Many of these bricks were made, by Patrick Cone and his son J. Frank Cone. The family lived and operated a brick yard two miles south of town in the beginning days of Granite County. J. Frank Cone, later became a Bitter Root Senator and after his term in office was injured in a car accident and died from those injuries in a Helena hospital on August 2, 1933. None of the family was interred in the Philipsburg cemetery.


 After Hector Horton left the 'Burg, a lot of the masonry work was done by the veteran stone and brick mason, Marvin A. Call, (spelled Caul on his headstone) who died January 12, 1916. Native of Herkimer, New York, he was sixty five and single. He left his estate to a niece in New York. Marvin lived in south Philipsburg, for twenty five years. The funeral was at his home with interment in the Philipsburg cemetery. His headstone has the nickname Tip carved on it.

As I end this chapter, recognize that only a few of the many citizens responsible for the history have been discussed. If you have family documents telling stories that are worthy of repeating please contact me with the information.

1 Philipsburg Territory, 2007.
2 Philipsburg Territory, 2007; Philipsburg Mail, July 6, 1893; New Northwest, May 19, 1882.
3 Philipsburg Mail, April 28, 1887; ibid, May 11, 1893;
4 ibid, July 6, 1893;  October 19, 1893.
5 ibid,  August 24, 1893.
6 Citizen Call,  March 13, 1895; 1895; Philipsburg Mail January 2, 1896;  Granite Mountain Star, June 22, 1889.
7 Citizen Call, July 3, 1895;  Philipsburg Mail, January 2, 1896.
8 Philipsburg Mail, May 6, 1898.
9 ibid, September 7, 1900; February 1901.
10 ibid, November 1, 1901.
11 ibid, June 24, 1904.
12 ibid, December 20, 1904; February 2, 1906.
13 ibid, September 11, 1908.
14 ibid, July 26, 1918; April 5, 1918.
15 ibid, March 17, 1922; February 3, 1928.
16 ibid, January 2, 1896; January 9, 1896; October 28, 1896; May 6, 1898; January 8, 1897.
 17 Citizen Call, November 14, 1894.
18 Philipsburg Mail, July 21, 1899.
19 ibid, May 25, 1893.
20 ibid, September 14, 1893.
21 ibid, December 7, 1923.
22 ibid, March 1964.
23 ibid, December 9, 1938.
24 ibid, January 26, 2006.
25 ibid, February 27, 1896.
26 ibid, December 16, 1904.
27 ibid, July 5, 1929.
28 ibid, December 2, 1927.
29 ibid, June 1923; July 1926.
30 ibid, July 20, 1923.
31 Progressive Men of the state of Montana, 1901; Leeson, History of Montana, 1885.
32 New Northwest, April 1, 1881.
33 Philipsburg Mail, April 28, 1988 (Metschter); New Northwest, March 17, 1882; New Northwest, May 19, 1882.
34 Philipsburg Mail, April 28, 1988 (Metschter).
35 ibid
36 Historical Marker on the front of Pizer Building, 2005; Philipsburg Territory, 2007; Philipsburg Mail, May 5, 1887.
37 Philipsburg Mail, February 16, 1900.
38 ibid, March 19, 1937; April 16, 1897.
 Connolly Cont’d 
 39Ibid, January 18, 1918.
40 Citizen Call, October 19, 1893.
41 ibid, September 19, 1894.
42 Granite County Historical Museum, 1893 Tax Roles.
43 Citizen Call, November 14, 1894.
44 ibid, May 14, 1896.
45 ibid, August 6, 1896.
46 Quigley Times, September 18, 1896.
47 Philipsburg Mail, January 8, 1897.
48 ibid, September 1, 1899; Granite County Voter’s registration, Granite County Court House, 2006. Kroger 
 49 ibid, July 29, 1898.
50 Herman “Lornie” Hauck, 2008.
51 ibid, January 8, 1897; July 29, 1898.
52 ibid, August 24, 1893; August 31, 1893; October 5, 1893.
53 ibid, October 30, 1895; November 6, 1895.
54 ibid, December 31, 1896; January 19, 1900; October 13, 1905; February 4, 1910.
55 ibid, November 22, 1912.
56 ibid, November 12, 1937; The Granite Graduate, 1929; March 2, 1928.
57 Herman Hauck, 2008.
58 ibid, December 13, 1918
59 ibid, July 10, 1925; September 11, 1925.
60 ibid, May 17, 1935.
61 ibid, January 15, 1937.
62 ibid, July 10, 1914
63 ibid, April 3, 1914; Oakley, The Philipsburg Story, 1981; Philipsburg Mail, July 10, 1914; April    23, 1915; November 12, 1937.
64 Philipsburg Mail, May 13, 1898; June 29, 1900; November 16, 1906; February 18, 1965; September 11, 1925; December 28, 1928; February 18, 1965.
 65 Philipsburg Mail, April 29, 1921.
66 ibid, December 29, 1922.
67 ibid, December 7, 1923.
68 ibid, January 19, 1923.
69 ibid, February 23, 1923; March 22, 1957; March 27, 1890.
70 ibid, June 6, 1898; June 4, 2007; November 12, 1898; December 30, 1898; May 4, 1900.
71 Fullerton ,Jean, 2008; Philipsburg Territory, 2007; Philipsburg Mail, February 1, 1901; September 13, 1901; March 8, 1907.
72 Philipsburg Mail, December 1, 1911.
73 ibid, May 27, 1921; December 28, 1928.
74 ibid, February 23, 1923.
75 Typed obituary for Lawrence Hauck dated February 21, 1923, in Jean Hauck Fullerton’s possession, 2008.
76 Information obtained from Hauck family document, 2008.
77 ibid, November 4, 1921.
78 Hauck Family Documents in possession of Jean Hauck Fullerton, 2008; Philipsburg Mail, November 4, 1921; March 22, 1956.
79 Newspaper clipping from unknown newspaper or date, in Hauck family documents of Jean Hauck Fullerton, 2008.
80 Philipsburg Mail, March 22, 1957.
81 Citizen Call May 23, 1894.
82 Philipsburg Mail, July 12, 1901; April 29, 1904.
83 ibid, November 18, 1910; January 6, 1911; April 28, 1911; May 5, 1911.
84 ibid, January 7, 1916. ibid, March 2, 1917.
85 Philipsburg Mail, October 9, 1914.
86 ibid, May 29, 1920.
87 ibid, February 24, 1922.
88 ibid, September 28, 1928.
89 ibid, October 30, 1925.
90 ibid, December 16, 1927.
91 Philipsburg Mail, August 4, 1933.
92 Philipsburg Mail, January 14, 1916.

No comments:

Post a Comment